A Guide to 7 Different Types of Meditation You Can Try

Types of Meditation

Meditation is the practice of concentrating one’s thoughts for a length of time. There are different types of meditation. This can be done in silence or with the use of chanting, and it’s used for a variety of purposes, including religious and spiritual ones as well as a means to induce relaxation.

Meditation has grown in popularity as a method to deal with stress in recent years. Scientific proof has also emerged demonstrating that meditation may aid in the management of chronic diseases such as depression, heart disease, and chronic pain.

There are many various types of this ancient art.

Types of Meditation

If you’re interested in learning more about meditation but aren’t sure where to begin, here are seven sorts of meditation exercises to try:

1. Meditation: Mindfulness

Mindfulness meditation is the practice of being fully aware with your thoughts. Being attentive means knowing where we are and what we’re doing rather than reacting to what happens around us.

Meditation may be done in any setting. Some individuals like to sit in a peaceful place with their eyes closed and focus on their breathing. You may, however, practice mindfulness at any time of the day, especially while commuting to work or undertaking daily tasks.

You notice your thoughts and feelings while practicing mindfulness meditation, but you don’t judge them.

2. Transcendental Meditation

Transcendental meditation is a simple practice in which a personally chosen mantra, such as a word, sound, or short phrase, is spoken in an unusual manner. It’s done twice each day for 20 minutes while sitting upright and your eyes shut.

The goal is to achieve inner peace without concentration or effort through the practice of “settling inward.”

3. Meditation with a Guide

Guided meditation, often known as guided imagery or visualization, is a type of meditation in which you create mental pictures or situations that relax you.

To prepare for the journey, you may take a bath or shower. You can make it with essential oils, salts, and herbs to maintain the scent of your favorite pet or smell in place after returning home. It should be made sure that there is adequate lighting accessible during this time so that everything is visible.

4. Meditation Vipassana

Vipassana meditation is a 2,500-year-old Indian style of meditation that aims to perceive things as they truly are. It was first taught in India more than two thousand years ago. This tradition gave rise to the contemporary mindfulness movement in the United States.

The goal of Vipassana meditation is the self-transformation that comes from self-observation. This is accomplished by applying mindful attention to bodily sensations in order to form a strong link between the mind and body.According to the teachings, one’s mind should be full of love and compassion if it is continuously interconnected.

In this belief, Vipassana is taught for 10 days, with students being forced to follow a set of rules the entire time, including non-use of drugs, telling lies, theft, sexual activity, and animal killing.

5. Metta Meditation (Loving Kindness Meditation)

Metta meditation, also known as Loving Kindness Meditation, is a type of meditation that involves sending well wishes to others. Those who practice repeat particular words and phrases in the hopes of generating pleasant sentiments. This is likewise common in mindfulness and vipassana sessions.

It’s usually done while sitting in a comfortable, calm posture. You repeat the following words slowly and steadily after a few deep breaths. “May I be happy. May I be healthy. May I be safe. May I be peaceful and at ease.”

After a while, you could start to picture a loved one or friend who has helped you and repeat the mantra again, this time using “you” instead of “I.”

As you continue the meditation, you may think of other members of your family, friends, neighbors, or people in your life. Visualizing persons with whom one has difficulties is also encouraged.

Finally, you conclude the session with the worldwide affirmation: “May all beings everywhere be joyful.”

6. Chakra Meditation

Chakra is a Sanskrit term that translates to “wheel.” It has its roots in India. The chakras are energy and spiritual power centers in the body. There are said to be seven chakras in total. Each chakra is positioned at a different section of the body, represented by a particular color.

Chakra meditation is a type of meditation that focuses on stimulating the chakras and bringing them into balance and well-being. Some of these techniques include visualizing each chakra in the body and its associated color. To assist persons focus during the meditation, some people light incense or utilize crystals color-coded for each chakra.

7. Yoga Meditation

Yoga is one of the oldest known physical activities. Yoga has been practiced in India for centuries. There are many types and styles of yoga, but they all have in common a series of postures and controlled breathing exercises intended to enhance flexibility while reducing stress.

Concentration and balance are required for the asanas, so practitioners are encouraged to minimize distractions and focus more on the present moment.

There are many factors to consider when deciding whether or not to practice meditation. If you have a health problem and are new to yoga, check with your doctor about the kind that’s best for you.